BU Men dominate all-conference voting

Yago Ramos was named the NSAA Newcomer of the Year
Yago Ramos was named the NSAA Newcomer of the Year

MADISON, S.D. -- The Bellevue University men's soccer team took home 10 of 26 all-conference spots and two of the four major awards when the 2017 North Star Athletic Association Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams and Postseason Awards were announced on Thursday.

Earning first team all-NSAA honors were senior forward Edgar Guzman (7 goals, 2 assists), junior midfielder Yago Ramos (3 G, 2 A), freshman midfielder Toby Millward (1 G, 4 A), senior defender Scott Robson (5 G, 2 A), junior defender Jacob Pease (6 shutouts), and freshman goalkeeper Harry Wray (1.56 GAA, 4 shutouts).

Second team all-NSAA recognition went to senior forward Andres Blanco (5 G, 2 A), sophomore forward Inaki Aldao (4 G), junior midfielder Travis Hurd (2 G, 2 A), and sophomore defender Finlay Bloodworth (2 G, 1 A).

Yago Ramos was cited as the Newcomer of the Year and Mark Heath-Preston collected his second-straight NSAA Coach of the Year award. Waldorf's Jean Bonnin (Offensive) and Jacob Harris (Defensive) picked up the league's two Player of the Year awards.

BU went a perfect 4-0-0 against league opposition to claim their fourth-straight regular-season championship. Since October of 2013, the Bruins are unbeaten (26-0-2) against league competition in both regular-season and tournament play.

Bellevue (8-7-1) starts its postseason quest tomorrow afternoon with a 1 p.m. kickoff against the Waldorf University in the semifinals of the Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) Tournament being held in Lawrenceville, Ga. and hosted by Georgia Gwinnett College.