Bontempo named OWH Captain; 7 tabbed All-Nebraska

Derik Bontempo is the sixth-straight Bruin to be named OWH All-Nebraska captain
Derik Bontempo is the sixth-straight Bruin to be named OWH All-Nebraska captain

BELLEVUE, Neb. -- Bellevue University junior Derik Bontempo has been named the captain of the Omaha World-Herald all-Nebraska team and was one of seven Bruins named on the squad. It marks the sixth-straight season, coinciding with the beginning of Coach Duane Monlux's tenure, that a Bruin has been selected as the team captain.

This past season the Bruins reached the Avista-NAIA World Series for the first time since 2008, and finished in third place, after capturing the Davenport Opening Round Championship. BU also pulled off the conference double, winning the NSAA regular-season and tournament championships in its first year in the league.

In addition to Bontempo, the Bruins saw sophomore third baseman Matt Evans, senior outfielder Trevor Jones, junior outfielder Joe Moran, junior right-handed pitcher Ben McKendall, senior left-handed pitcher Braulio Torres-Perez, and senior right-handed pitcher Leland Tilley earn all-Nebraska honors.

Bontempo, Jones, McKendall, Torres-Perez, and Tilley were all previously named first team all-NSAA. Additionally McKendall was previously honored as the league's Pitcher of the Year and a second team All-American. Evans was previously a second team all-NSAA pick while Moran earned honorable mention honors.

Additionally, five other Bruins were recognized as honorable mention selections. Earning honorable mention recognition were junior catcher Jake Browne, senior second baseman Ross Feeley, senior short stop Connor Garrison, senior first baseman Joe Mancuso, and junior right-handed pitcher/first baseman Todd Nicks.

Browne, Feeley, and Nicks had already been named second team all-NSAA last month and Mancuso was chosen as an honorable mention selection.

BU Pro Baseball Roundup
July 31, 2015 BU Pro Baseball Roundup