Bruins crowned NSAA Champions, Moore wins individual title

Bruins crowned NSAA Champions, Moore wins individual title

Final Results

BELLEVUE, Neb. -- The Bellevue University women's golf team, led by individual champion Kim Moore, won the 2019 North Star Athletic Association Tournament title on Tuesday at the par-72, 5,840-yard Platteview Country Club. Bellevue earned the automatic bid to the NAIA National Championship with the victory. 

The Bruins ran away with the team title, shooting a two-day team total of 688 (355-333), 45 strokes ahead of second-place Dickinson State University which shot a 733 36-hole total. Viterbo was three strokes back, finishing third at 736. Waldorf placed fourth at 739. 

It marked the seventh conference tournament title in the eight-year history of the BU program. The Bruins have now qualified for the NAIA National Championship six times. 

Moore shot the day's best round, finishing at 7-over par 79 for a two-round total of 164, four strokes ahead of teammate Madison Brooks who finished with a 168 (82-86) total. 

Viterbo's Bailey Schmidt finished third with a 172 (89-83) total. The Bruins' Allison Temple placed fourth with a two-day sum of 176 (94-82). 

The NAIA National Championship will be held at the Lincoln Park Golf Course in Oklahoma City on May 14-17.  

First Team all-NSAA

Kim Moore, Bellevue

Madison Brooks, Bellevue

Bailey Schmidt, Viterbo

Allison Temple, Bellevue

Riley Helmick, Dickinson State

Nicole Misner, Waldorf

Seeret Brar, Waldorf

Second Team all-NSAA

Morgan Hazzard, Bellevue

Jocelyn Braunberger, Valley City State

Jace Steier, Dickinson State

Hannah Moore, Viterbo

Natalee Hafer, Dickinson State

Breilyn Riggin, Dickinson State

Hannah McDaniel, Viterbo


NSAA Women's Player of the Year -Bailey Schmidt, Viterbo University

NSAA Coach of the Year - Shelly Liddick, Bellevue University