Goodwin named to NAIA all-Nebraska first team

Goodwin named to NAIA all-Nebraska first team

OWH Release

Bellevue University men's basketball junior forward Jamil Goodwin was named to the Omaha World-Herald's NAIA all-Nebraska first team, announced today.

Goodwin, who was an NAIA honorable mention All-American, led the Bruins with 13.1 points and 8.9 rebounds per game, while also recording a team-leading 11 double-doubles on the season. He registered a career-high 26 points in BU's 78-76 win at Central Christian on Feb. 9 and a career-high 20 rebounds in the Bruins' 70-55 victory over Waldorf on Jan. 26.

Goodwin earned first team all-MCAC honors and was named the MCAC Defensive Player of the Year. He ranked second in the league with 9.9 rebounds per MCAC contest and 3.5 offensive rebounds per league game. Goodwin led the conference with 6.4 defensive rebounds per MCAC game.

Dominique Grant and Shawn Tarver both earned honorable mention NAIA all-Nebraska honors.

The 2012-13 Bruins advanced to their 11th-straight NAIA National Tournament, finishing with a 24-11 overall record, while sharing the MCAC regular season crown with a 12-4 conference mark. BU advanced to the Sweet Sixteen of the NAIA National Tournament, losing to eventual national champion Cardinal Stritch University.

First Team
G: James Parrott, Midland
G: Brady Lollman, Hastings
G: Thadd Varmall, York
G: Nick Reed, Doane
F: Jamil Goodwin, Bellevue

Second Team
G: Derrick Williams, Peru State
G: Marcus Johnson, York
G: Dane Bacon, Hastings
F: Connor Beranek, Doane
F: Jerome Vaughn, Midland

Honorary captains: James Parrott, Midland University; Thadd Varmall, York College.

Honorable mention: Dominique Grant, Shawn Tarver, Bellevue; Porter Birtell, Beau Smith, Concordia; Jens Scholl, Shavontae Samuels, Domonique Smith, Doane; Dylan Flinn, Hastings; Ben Imig, Midland; Eric Jackson, Trevor Johnson, Tim Schweitzer, Nebraska Wesleyan; Kody Kirkpatrick, Richard Oppitz, Peru State; Spencer Plank, Hakeem Stewart, Grace.